If you or a loved one has been injured in a car accident and another person was at fault, you may be entitled to compensation for medical bills, lost income, and pain and suffering. We settle hundreds of RI car accident cases every year and charge no legal fees until you receive a settlement or award. Give us a call toll free 24/7 or contact us online for your free legal consultation.
What Is My Auto Case Worth?
If you are injured in a car accident and it is not your fault, you are entitled to collect from the other driver’s insurance company for your medical bills, lost income, and pain and suffering. The pain and suffering part of the claim is always the area that we battle with the insurance company the most. They often do not see pain and suffering worth as much money as we do so this is where our 24 years of experience in handling these cases can be a big help. Read more
How to Handle Your Auto Property Damage Claim?
The most important thing you can do to ensure you get enough money from the insurance company regarding your property damage claim is to have the insurance appraiser examine your vehicle at the auto body place where you are going to have your car fixed as your auto body repairman can best negotiate the amount of money you need to fix your car. Read more
What to do Immediately After a Car Accident?
1) Remain calm and do not move your vehicle until the police arrive.
2) Obtain names and addresses of any witnesses to the accident, including passengers from the respective cars.
3) Obtain name and address of the other driver, along with the license number, registration and insurance company’s name.
Reporting Law in RI
The driver of a motor vehicle involved in an accident in Rhode Island that results in injuries and/or property damage in excess of $1,000 is required by law to report the accident in writing, within 21 days of its occurrence, to the Division of Motor Vehicles. Failure to complete and submit the Rhode Island Accident Report form may result in suspension of the driver’s license and payment of a reinstatement fee in order for the license to become valid again. This report is in addition to a police report; it is not intended to be a substitute for a completed police report from the responding law enforcement officer.
Common Types of Auto Accident Injuries:
What Insurance Steps Should be Taken?
Contact the insurance company as soon as possible after the accident. All companies require claims to be filed within a certain amount of time after the accident. Do not wait too long to file a claim! Read more
You can collect medical payments coverage, if available, from the automobile you were in during the accident. If you were injured in a vehicle that does not have this coverage, you may be able to use your own coverage for medical payments on a vehicle in your household.
You may also be able to collect temporary disability insurance (TDI) from the State of Rhode Island if you were employed by the state and will have lost wages as a result of your temporary disability or injury.
Bodily Injury to Others
Every insured automobile in Rhode Island has a minimum coverage of $25,000/$50,000. This means the insurance company will pay up to $25,000 to each injured person, but no more than $50,000 total for each accident. Some automobiles may have coverage with much higher limits.
Only the insurance company for the person at fault pays under this coverage. This coverage compensates you for lost wages, medical expenses, pain and suffering, scarring and mental anguish. The State of Rhode Island has no minimal requirement that your medical bills must exceed, as can be common elsewhere. The insurance company will pay you under bodily injury for any injury that was directly caused by the negligence of another driver.
Uninsurance and Underinsurance
If you are injured by an uninsured automobile, you can collect uninsured benefits from the automobile you were in at the time of the accident. You may also collect from your own automobile, or from policies of automobiles owned by members of your household. This would cover you for medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering, scarring and mental anguish.
If the negligent party does not have enough insurance coverage to compensate you for your losses, you can collect underinsurance benefits first from the automobile you were in during the accident. You may also collect additional underinsurance benefits from your own automobile, or from automobiles owned by members of your household. These policies may be added together, or “stacked”, subject to certain conditions.
You may qualify for additional benefits such as workers’ compensation if your accident occurred in the course of your employment, or disability payments if you have disability insurance coverage. You may also qualify for payment of your home mortgage, automobile loan, or life insurance premiums if you have the applicable coverage. You should check to see if you have any other coverage, in addition to your automobile insurance coverage.
Dangers of Texting While Driving
Distracted driving is a growing concern among all drivers. In 2010, the last full year for which there are records, 3,092 individuals were killed in auto accidents involving at least one distracted driver. In the same year, it was determined that 18% of injuries caused by car crashes involved distracted drivers. This includes changing radio stations, placing phone calls using either a hands free or hand held mobile phone, and text messaging. Read more
Why You Need an Auto Accident Attorney?
Auto accidents can be traumatic and dangerous. Seemingly minor accidents can have long-term consequences. You may not realize it, but you need legal assistance. Insurance companies do not have your best interests at heart and will try to settle any claims for the lowest possible amount. Read more
Contact the Law Offices of d'Oliveira & Associates
Call d'Oliveira & Associates today at 1-800-992-6878, or fill out a contact form for your free consultation.
- (i) Rhode Island Department of Transportation. 2011.