CONTACT AN EXPERIENCED RI CAR ACCIDENT LAWYER TO HELP YOU
If you have been injured in a Rhode Island car accident and another person was at fault, you may be entitled to a cash settlement to pay you for your medical bills, lost income, pain and suffering, scarring (if any), among other losses. Our experienced RI auto accident lawyers here settle hundreds of car accident cases in RI every year and there is no fee until you receive a settlement or award. Call us toll free 24/7 or contact us online for your free (no obligation) case evaluation.
What Is My RI Car Accident Case Worth?
If you are injured in a car accident and it is not your fault, you are entitled to collect from the other driver’s insurance company for your medical bills, lost income, and pain and suffering. As an experienced RI Car Accident Lawyer, I can assure you that the pain and suffering part of your case is always the area that the insurance company will try to lowball you on. It is the area that we battle with the insurance company the most. They often do not see pain and suffering worth as much money as we do so this is where our 25 years of experience in handling these cases can be a big help. Read more
How to Handle My RI Car Accident Property Damage Claim?
It is plain and simple…the most important thing you can do to make sure you get enough money from the insurance company for your property damage claim, is to have the insurance company appraiser look at your car at the auto body place where you are going to have your car fixed. Only your auto body repairman can best help you get the most money you need to fix your car. Read more
What to do Immediately After a RI Car Accident?
- Remain calm and do not move your vehicle until the police arrive.
- Obtain names and addresses of any witnesses to the accident, including passengers from the respective cars.
- Obtain name and address of the other driver, along with the license number, registration and insurance company’s name. Read more
Do I Need to Report My RI Car Accident?
The driver of a motor vehicle involved in an accident in RI, that results in injuries and/or property damage more than $1,000, is required by law to report the accident in writing, within 21 days of its occurrence, to the Division of Motor Vehicles.
The driver of a motor vehicle involved in an accident in Rhode Island that results in injuries and/or property damage in excess of $1,000 is required by law to report the accident in writing, within 21 days of its occurrence, to the Division of Motor Vehicles. Failure to complete and submit the Rhode Island Accident Report form may result in suspension of the driver’s license and payment of a reinstatement fee in order for the license to become valid again. This report is in addition to a police report; it is not intended to be a substitute for a completed police report from the responding law enforcement officer.
Our experienced RI Car Accident lawyers here can check to make sure you have properly fully complied with al the reporting laws in RI.
What Are Some Common Types of RI Car Accident Injuries?
Should I Contact the Other Driver’s Insurance Company?
If you are seriously injured, we recommend that you first speak with an experienced RI Car Accident Lawyer before you speak with the claims adjuster for the insurance company of the other driver who was at fault. Anything can be used against you and if you do not know RI Car Accident Insurance Law, then your case could be compromised. It is alleged that Insurance Company studies show that often a person handling their own injury claim, without a lawyer, get up to 2/3 less than if they hire an experienced lawyer. Read more
What Do I Do If I Want to Handle My RI Car Accident Without a Lawyer?
We strongly feel you should contact a lawyer before trying to deal with your case alone, but if you decide not to do so…here are some helpful tips. We do recommend that you contact your “own” insurance company as soon as possible after the accident and simply report the claim to them. All RI Car Accident Insurance Companies require claims to be filed within a certain amount of time after the accident.
If you want to deal with the other driver’s RI insurance company on your own, here are some helpful tips. Read more
INSURANCE COMPANY COVERAGE FOR RI CAR ACCIDENTS
Medical Payments and TDI in RI
You can collect medical payments coverage, if available, from the automobile you were in during the accident. If you were injured in a vehicle that does not have this coverage, you may be able to use your own coverage for medical payments on a vehicle in your household. Many times you will find coverage of $5,000 or more. Even if the accident was your fault you can collect money for your medical bills.
You may also be able to collect Temporary Disability Insurance (TDI) from the State of Rhode Island if you were employed by the state and will have lost wages as a result of your temporary disability or injury.
Bodily Injury to Others
Every insured automobile in RI has a minimum coverage of $25,000/$50,000. This means the insurance company will pay up to $25,000 to each injured person, but no more than $50,000 total for each accident. Some automobiles may have coverage with much higher limits.
Only the insurance company for the person at fault pays under this coverage. This coverage compensates you for lost wages, medical expenses, pain and suffering, scarring and mental anguish. The State of Rhode Island has no minimal requirement that your medical bills must exceed, as can be common elsewhere. The insurance company will pay you under bodily injury for any injury that was directly caused by the negligence of another driver.
Uninsured and Underinsured Coverage in RI Car Accidents
If you are injured by an uninsured automobile, you can collect uninsured benefits from the automobile you were in at the time of the accident. You may also collect from your own automobile, or from policies of automobiles owned by members of your household. This would cover you for medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering, scarring and mental anguish.
If the negligent party does not have enough insurance coverage to compensate you for your losses, you can collect underinsurance benefits first from the automobile you were in during the accident. You may also collect additional underinsurance benefits from your own automobile, or from automobiles owned by members of your household. These policies may be added together, or “stacked”, subject to certain conditions.
Other Possible Insurance Coverage for RI Car Accident Cases
You may qualify for additional benefits such as workers’ compensation if your accident occurred in the course of your employment or disability payments if you have disability insurance coverage. You may also qualify for payment of your home mortgage, automobile loan, or life insurance premiums if you have this insurance coverage. An experienced RI car accident lawyer can help you figure out what coverage(s) you may have, in addition to your automobile insurance coverage.
Dangers of Texting While Driving
Distracted driving is a growing concern among all drivers. In 2010, the last full year for which there are records, 3,092 individuals were killed in auto accidents involving at least one distracted driver. In the same year, it was determined that 18% of injuries caused by car crashes involved distracted drivers. This includes changing radio stations, placing phone calls using either a hands free or hand held mobile phone, and text messaging. Read more
Why Do I Probably Need an Experienced RI Car Accident Lawyer?
The answer is simple. If you handle your case on your own, you will be going up against an experienced insurance company claims adjuster, whose main goal is to pay you the least amount of money they can to settle your case. For a very small injury, trying to handle your own case could work, but for a more serious injury, having an experienced RI Car Accident attorney handle your case is, in our opinion a much better choice.
There are a lot of things our RI Car Accident lawyers can do to maximize your settlement. We will make sure you are getting the proper treatment with the best doctors, who are experienced at writing up medical reports. We also monitor your medical records to make sure your doctors are properly documenting your symptoms and pain and suffering and to make sure they order the proper tests. Sometimes a client with a serious back injury may need an MRI to see if they have a disc injury and sometimes doctors are reluctant to order an MRI. Failing to do so could hurt the value of your case.
There are many other things our experienced RI Car Accident lawyers can do for you such as determining the proper insurance coverage you may have, etc. We charge a 1/3 of your settlement fee and in house insurance company studies show people who hire lawyers get up to 3 times more money than those who do not.
You should at least speak to an attorney to get a case evaluation before you decide to go it alone. You can speak to one of our lawyers here for free any time.
- State of Rhode Island Accident Report Form
- State of Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles
- State of Rhode Island Department of Transportation
- Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training – Temporary Disability Insurance
Contact the Experienced RI Car Accident Lawyers at d’Oliveira & Associates
Call one of our lawyers today for a free case evaluation today at 1-800-992-6878, or fill out a contact form.
- (i) Rhode Island Department of Transportation. 2011.