Rhode Island State House that passed Drunk Driving Ignition Lock System Bill

The Rhode Island legislation unanimously passed a bill that calls for all citizens convicted of drunk driving be required to attach a drunk driving ignition locking system to their vehicles. This makes Rhode Island the 28th state to implement such a rule, with other local states such as Connecticut and New Hampshire also having such a rule. As written in the law, this will become the normal operating procedure for convicted drivers as soon as the Governor signs the bill. This bill is aimed to prevent drunk driving from occurring, and hopes to prevent serious drunk driving car accidents.

How Do DUI Ignition Lock Systems Prevent Car Accidents?

Drunk Driving Ignition Lock SystemA DUI ignition lock system is used as a breathalyzing unit placed in a vehicle which is placed to prevent those who have been convicted of a drinking and driving crime. When starting up the vehicle, a breath sample must be submitted before the vehicle will start. If the submitted test is above the limit, the vehicle will not start. Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) have recently found that these systems have prevented for than 1.7 million drunk driving incidents which could have led to many car accidents. Another study found that the system decreases the chances of a repeated offender's chance of a car accident by 67%.

Sobering Drunk Driving Car Accident Statistics

    car crash

  • Every two minutes, a motorist or passenger is injured in a drunk driving car accident. (MADD)
  • In the United States, an average of 28 people die as a result of a drunk driving car accident. (MADD)
  • Drunk driving car accidents account for 28% of all traffic deaths annually. (Responsbility.org)
  • 33% of fatal car accidents involve a drunk driver. (Visual)
  • In 2011, Rhode Island's 66 car accidents led to 30 fatalities, which is 45%. (AlcoholAlert.com)
  • Alcohol-related crashes are the leading cause of death for motorists ages 16-24 in the United States. (CDC)
  • 4.2 million adults in the United States reported driving while impaired at least once in a month. (MedicalDaily.com)

Rhode Island Law for a Fatal DUI Car Accident

drunk driver being given a breathalyzer testA person who is convicted of DUI resulting in the death of another faces the following penalties:

  • For a first violation, the offender will be imprisoned for five to 15 years and fined $5,000 to $10,000. The offender’s drive's license will be revoked for five years.
  • For a second or subsequent violation within a five-year period, the offender will be imprisoned for 10 to 20 years and fined $10,000 to $20,000. The offender's driver's license will be revoked for five years.

Contact a Rhode Island Car Accident Lawyer

Rhode Island Car Accident LawyerIf you or someone you know has been injured in a car accident, contact our experienced Coventry car accident lawyers at 390 Broadway, Providence, RI 02909. You may be entitled to receive compensation for your medical bills, lost income and pain and suffering, among other losses. No fees are received unless you win your case. For a free (no obligation) case evaluation, call us toll free at 1-800-992-6878. You may also fill out our contact form online.

Source: wpri.com/2016/06/21/ignition-locks-required-for-dui-offenders/