Woman hurt after a car accident

If you or a loved one has been in a car accident recently in the state of Rhode Island, you are no longer required to file a separate Accident Report with the state’s Department of Motor Vehicles, reveals the Providence Journal (i). The RI DMV has recently changed its policies relating to car accidents occurring within the state, and no longer requires vehicle operators to file the Motor Vehicle Accident Report (also known as the State Crash Report).

An important exception to this however, is when a collision results in bodily injury or damage in excess of $1,000.00. In such circumstances, a Uniform Crash Report (commonly known as the “Police Report”) does need to be filed. State and local law enforcement officials will typically create this report for you at the scene of the crash, and this documentation is what the DMV will not be accepting instead of the State Report.

The Crash Report written up by the police at the accident scene will be automatically submitted to the Rhode Island Department of Transportation to be compiled with other vehicle collision statistics. The DMV and DOT are working in tandem to process this crash information and streamlining the process to eliminate additional steps for vehicle operators.

Even though the DMV’s policies about crash documentation have changed, there are still some basic steps that should be taken immediately after a car accident.

Teen in an auto accident

First and foremost, remain calm and do not move your vehicle until police arrive on the scene. Obtain the names and addresses of any witnesses to the accident, including all passengers from their respective cars.

Next, be sure to record the name and address of the other motorist, including their license number, registration, and insurance information. Motorists should also note the position of vehicles in the accident, and current road conditions in terms of the weather, time of day, and so on.

Man taking pictures of car accident damage

If possible, take pictures of the accident scene and any injuries (cell phones may be helpful for this). If any parties appear to have committed traffic violations (speeding, running a red light, etc.) or seem to be under the influence of drugs or alcohol, be sure to take not of this.

Furthermore, in the wake of an accident, you should contact your insurance company or agent as soon as possible. In the event that you have sustained any injury, seek appropriate medical attention. Lastly, contact d’Oliveira & Associates to assist you with any further questions you may have.

Are You the Victim of Pawtucket Car Accident?

If you or a loved one has suffered injury in an automobile accident, you should contact the attorneys at our Pawtucket office. The auto accident attorneys and legal staff have experience handling these types of cases and can help you recover whatever monetary compensation you may be entitled to. Our firm charges no legal fees unless you obtain a settlement or award. Feel free to contact us on our 24-hour phone line at 1-(800) 992-6878 or fill out a contact form for a free legal consultation.

Pawtucket auto accident Victims meeting with their Personal Injury Attorney

Pawtucket Car Accident Lawyers | d’Oliveira & Associates

11 George Street,
Pawtucket, RI02860

Phone: (401) 365-6001


  • DMV Answers: One ‘Uniform Crash’ Report is all you need to file after an accident, November 9, 2013.