Police stopping woman driver for not wearing her seat belt

The national “Click It or Ticket” campaign is making its way to Rhode Island. RI state police are increasing patrol with the sole purpose of enforcing seat belt laws. “Click It or Ticket” is a national safety campaign by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). As a part of the campaign, NHTSA provides additional funding to police across the U.S. to enforce seat belt and child restraint laws. The increased patrol enforcement will continue in RI until June 2, 2019.

What are the Current Rhode Island Seat Belt Laws?

Man attaching seat belt

There are two main types of seat belt laws in the U.S.: primary and secondary enforcement. Primary enforcement laws allow police to pull over a vehicle for the sole purpose of no seat belt use, while secondary enforcement laws require the police to have an additional traffic violation in order to stop a vehicle. Rhode Island, luckily, is a state of primary enforcement. In RI, passengers and drivers are always required to wear a seat belt. In addition, children under the age of eight or those who do not meet the specific height and weight requirements are required to be in an approved child restraint seat.

Why Wearing a Seat Belt is Important?

There are two reasons why wearing a seat belt should be important to you: your life and your wallet. If RI state police catch you without a seat belt on the fine is $40. Meanwhile, if the RI police find your child is not properly restrained in your vehicle, the fine increases to $85. But even more important is the life that seat belts protect. The main function of seat belts is to hold you to your vehicle in case of an accident.

SUV rollover accident

Without the seat belt, a person is more likely to be ejected from the car which significantly increases the severity of injuries suffered. It is best to ensure compliance with RI seat belt laws to prevent loss of life or money. If you do end up in an accident, be sure to call an experienced Newport car accident lawyer today for a free consultation.

Contact an Experienced Car Accident Lawyer

We have the experience and resources to handle your case and get you the compensation you deserve. Our staff utilizes a team-work approach to obtain your medical records, investigate your claim, and track your progress. We have been focusing on personal injury and disability cases for over 35 years and know how to deal with the insurance company. We offer a free (no obligation) consultation and charge no fee unless we get you a settlement or award. Our experienced Newport car accident lawyers can get you the best settlement possible. Call us 24/7 at 1-(508) 625-9765 or fill out a contact form for a free evaluation of your case.

Car Accident Victims meeting with their Personal Injury Attorney