What Insurance Coverage Is Available for the Rhode Island Driver?

MEDICAL PAYMENTS AND TDI – Even if the accident was your fault, you can collect for your medical bills from the insurance company of the car you were in, if the car has this coverage. Many people carry $5,000 or more. If you were injured in a vehicle that does not have this coverage, you may be able to collect this coverage from a vehicle in your household. You may also be able to collect Temporary Disability Insurance (TDI) from the State of Rhode Island if you were employed in Rhode Island and are unable to work.

BODILY LIABILITY INSURANCE COVERAGE – By law, every insured automobile in Rhode Island has to have a minimum coverage of $25,000/$50,000. This means the driver at fault’s insurance company will pay up to $25,000 to each injured person, but no more than $50,000 total for each accident. This coverage compensates you for lost wages, medical expenses and pain and suffering, among other losses. This coverage is available to you from the other driver’s insurance, if they were at fault.

UNINSURED/UNDERINSURED – If you are injured due to the fault of an uninsured or underinsured driver, you can collect uninsured or underinsured benefits from the automobile you were in at the time of the accident. Read more

OTHER POSSIBLE COVERAGES – You may qualify for additional benefits such as workers’ compensation, disability insurance (if you have a policy), home mortgage insurance, auto loan insurance, etc. Our experienced car accident lawyers can walk you through all the insurance coverages available to you.