auto insurance and car keyUninsured motorists (UM) own or operate motor vehicles without automobile insurance policies. There are also underinsured motorists (UIM), whose insurance coverage may not be enough to cover all expenses. In 2007, around 14% of Rhode Island drivers were uninsured and only about 1% in Massachusetts. These Uninsured motorists and underinsured motorists pose a significant problem for drivers. If you have been in an accident with an uninsured motorist, what do you need to do?

Insurance Laws are Highly Complex

First, you should remember that you still have the right to pursue a claim against the person who has caused the injury. He or she may have enough assets to pay the expenses out of his or her own pocket. In some instances, however, his or her assets may not be enough to cover the expenses you incurred and the damages caused to you. You still have another option if this is the case.

uninsured motoristYou may have certain rights in your state if you were hit by uninsured or underinsured motorists. In Rhode Island and in Massachusetts, all automobile insurance policies are required to include uninsured motorists or underinsured motorist’s coverage. The coverage in RI is currently at a minimum of $25,000 for property destruction, $25,000 for injury or death of 1 person, and $50,000 for the injuries or death of 2 or more people. In this case, RI and MA residents may pursue a claim with their own auto insurance company using their uninsured motorists or underinsured motorist’s coverage.

If you were hit by an uninsured motorist, you don’t have to pay for all the expenses by yourself. Contact a RI car accident lawyer to know and understand your rights as an insured individual. Your auto accident lawyer will help you pursue a claim against the negligent party or the insurance company.

uninsured motorist lawyerInsurance companies often try to dispute uninsured or underinsured motorist claims so that they don’t have to pay for your injuries. If an uninsured or underinsured motorist injures you, tell the insurance company that you mean business. Call a personal injury lawyer at the law offices of d’Oliveira & Associates at 1-800-992-6878 or fill out a contact form for a free legal consultation.