Texting while driving in Massachusetts and Rhode Island is illegal because it is so dangerous. Such behavior can often cause injury and even can lead to death. Texting has been found to be so incredibly distracting and dangerous that texting while walking has even been banned in some places. There have been reported instances of people becoming injured as a result, not only of texting while driving, but also texting while walking and biking.
If you take just a moment to text that important message, your life could be changed forever. If you ask your spouse to bring home a jug of milk or pick up the kids, in that moment of distraction, you could be killed or kill.
Consider these Driver Distraction Statistics:
- 80% of all car accidents are caused by distracted drivers.
- In comparison, drunk drivers cause 33% of all car accidents.
- About 800,000 people (2008 statistics) use handheld cells phones while driving.
- Approximately 6,000 people are killed annually as a result of distracted driving.
Driving Tips to Keep You and Your Family Safe
- Use a blue tooth or other hands free device for telephone calls. Or better yet, don’t use your phone while driving. Never text while driving. Pull over.
- Pull off to the side of the road when you need to check out maps, utilize your GPS, or take and make phone calls.
- Let your passengers check out the GPS or handle telephone calls and texts.
- Secure pets.
- If your children need attention, pull off the road to care for them.
- When you drive, drive. Don’t take your eyes off the road to put on mascara or nail polish, read the newspaper, eat, take a phone call, text, use hand-held GPS, look at maps, or anything else. If you do, you risk your life and the lives of others.
Consequences of Texting While Driving in Massachusetts and Rhode Island
If you text while driving,
- You could hurt or kill yourself and your passengers, including your spouse and children
- You could hurt or kill someone else, including children
- You could be sued and lose all of your assets
- Your insurance rates could significantly increase
- You could be fined
- You could damage your car or someone else’s car or property
- You may have to live with the guilt of doing any of the above
Get Help as Soon as Possible
If you or a loved one has been injured by a distracted driver, it is imperative that you seek legal help as soon as possible.
Evidence must be preserved. Often memories fade and physical evidence is lost. As soon as you call our distracted driver law offices, we will get to work, investigating your case and preserving evidence.
In addition, each state has a mandated time limit for filing distracted driver claims. If your case isn’t filed by the deadline, known as the “statute of limitations,” you will not be permitted to file it. This means that you will never recover financial compensation for your losses.
Where to Get Help
What do you do if you or a loved one has been injured by a distracted driver who was texting in Massachusetts or Rhode Island? Call the Law Offices of d’Oliveira & Associates now. Our personal injury lawyers represent families just like yours. We will work aggressively to assert your rights and get you the compensation that you and your family need and deserve. Email us or call us now for FREE case evaluation. For your convenience, our telephones are answered 24 hours a day and 7 days a week (1-800-992-6878).